Red Wheelbarrow Revisited

I was going to write about how I would be your red wheelbarrow,
Because I will wait, through sunshine and storms, to be useful.
You’re the first person I’ve ever wanted to be dependable for;
I’ll work for you.

I was going to write about how I will carry your loads when you can’t,
Because you’ve already carried so much, and I know you must be tired.
Give me your trouble, your hurt, your doubt.
I want to roll them far away for you.

That’s what I was going to write about today.
Because today you felt ruined, and I wanted to carry it away.
I wanted you to know that I will be waiting,
Because life is so much,
But you can depend on me.

I might be ordinary,
But I can be necessary.

2 comments

  1. Green Embers · November 20

    This is beautiful! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ali · November 21

    Thank you so much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

