Love Will Trump Hate

I am a woman.
I am a lesbian.
My girlfriend is Muslim.

After yesterday’s election, these are now three reasons for me to be scared, worried,  disgusted, and sad. My country failed me, and every other woman, and every Muslim, and every person of color, and every member of the LGBTQ+ community.

I can’t change the results of the election, but I can choose how I move forward in my life for the next four years. I choose love and tolerance for those with a different opinion. I choose to hold strong to my beliefs, and use this as motivation to get involved. I can no longer tell myself that one person can’t make a difference. This is too important.

I desperately don’t want my right to get married to be taken away. I want to be able to have children on my own terms, and I want my girlfriend to be safe here; seen only as the beautiful person she is, inside and out. I want my trans friends to be protected. I want to surround myself with people who want to knock down walls and shatter glass ceilings.

From what I’ve read, it seems I’m not the only one who is scared. But I want to tell you all something:

We’ve got this, because we have each other. We know our country, our women, and our minorities deserve better. We need to stick together, so please choose love. Choose action. Don’t make a home in anger, bitterness, or complacency.

But in this moment, it needs to be said…

I’m sorry. I’m sorry our country allowed this to happen.

It’s time to make a change.

 

3 comments

  1. rarasaur · November 9

    Choose action. Yes. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  2. serendipityindigo · November 9

    Reblogged this on Serendipity Indigo.

    Like

  3. Mr Tookles · November 9

    I think in any case love is the best choice and always remember you’re an American. The people have always been so much stronger than the presidents. You had so many more leaders and I strongly believe in the wake of this people will rise.

    Wholeheartedly indeed. Choose love. Choose action❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

