Away We Go

I guess it’s only fitting for my first post to be a little introduction. Not only for you, but for myself, so I can look back on this and see where I was in this moment.

My name is Ali. I’m 30. I live in Ohio, but my heart belongs in the south. I was in the Carolinas for nine years but had to venture back to the great white north after my father had two strokes. Everything about that situation totally sucked.

I’m a lesbian. I’m super out and proud, and it took me a long time to get here. My last relationship was emotionally abusive. Everything about that situation totally sucked, too, but I am learning I am strong.

I don’t have children, but I am wild about my dog. He’s an 8 year old lab/basset hound mix, the first thing I ever had to care for outside of myself, and has been one of the best parts of my life since the moment he arrived in it.

I’ve only been in love once, but it was a big one. I’ve had a lot of strange jobs, and learned something from all of them (I’ll definitely be writing about the job at which I handled human body fluids all day.) I become way too emotionally invested in fictional characters. I’m fascinated by different languages. I don’t have many friends, but the ones I do have are incredible. I’m not really that great at introductions… or life… but, I’m here. I’m still here. Not sure what direction these daily posts are going to take, so I guess we can be surprised together. Let’s roll.

So, tell me a little about you?

3 comments

  1. N. · November 1

    Hi there! I’m not that great at introductions either which is probably why my ‘about me’ page is all about Jellyfish 😂. I’m married and have a 2year old daughter and that is basically my life for now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Charlotte Steggz · November 1

    Hey Ali! Thank you for sharing your story. Every experience we have builds us as people – I’ve been through an emotionally abusive relationship too. It sucked at the time (to say the least!) but I’m the person I am today because of it.
    I’m looking forward to reading more from you over the next month!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Rumble: Of Kings and Queens – The Seeker's Dungeon

Leave a Reply

